WLC Hero

Women's leadership council


The Women's Leadership Council collaborates with other groups at Roosevelt as well as the community to identify the critical issues women face. The Council hosts programming, provides mentorship and gives back to initiatives that facilitate real solutions to close the gender gap. All women and men who know and support Roosevelt University are welcome to join.


Members of the Women’s Leadership Council are guided by the following principles:

  • Connect – by encouraging personal and professional relationships
  • Develop – by fostering personal and professional growth
  • Give Back – by helping to make valuable contributions to Roosevelt University, our community and to causes that inspire us

Become a member of the council and start receiving information and invites to Women’s Leadership events and programs.




Join the virtual book club to connect and learn. Together, we will read one book over two months and three books a year. We enjoy a variety of books related to leadership, professional themes and more. Choose to join the discussion for one or all three books — whatever works for you.

How does the discussion work?

Online discussions are facilitated by a  moderator. The club meets for one live virtual discussion on each book. Through the LinkedIn group Roosevelt University’s Women’s Leadership Council, you can engage in online chat discussions over a two-month period. 

How do I join?

Sign up to become a book club member.  Receive communications about book club discussions, updates and selected books. 

Join the Book Club


EVENT information


Mental Health, COVID Fatigue and Finding Support
Speaker: Melisa Alaba, MA, LPC, CEO Of Vision Works Coaching, Breakthrough Coach & Therapist
View Recording 
Women's History Month Events
Women's Leadership Council Live Podcast

View Recording 

Women Student Leadership Panel
View Recording
A Women's Struggle for Racial and Gender Equity, with Rev. Dr. Janette Wilson
View Recording


The Women's Leadership Council advisory board provides leadership and direction to the Women's Leadership Council membership and to Roosevelt. This select group of individuals will strengthen the Roosevelt legacy by addressing the issues faced by current and aspiring women leaders, leveraging an inclusive network to seek improvements and solutions.

The advisory board provides advice and counsel on the University's efforts to support the women of Roosevelt; current students, alumni and friends of the University. The advisory board builds awareness of important and relevant issues and shares their expertise and talents.


  • Ann Ford, Roosevelt Board of Trustees Member, Partner of Hall Prangle & Schoonveld LLC
  • Larissa Herczeg, Roosevelt Board of Trustees Member, Managing Director and CIO of Oak Street Real Estate Capital



BOARD members

  • Melissa Bean, Roosevelt Alumna (BA '02), CEO of Mesirow Wealth Advisors, Mesirow Financial, Former U.S. Representative
  • Vicki Fuller, Roosevelt Alumna (BS '79) and Board of Trustees Member, Board Member of Fidelity Investments and The Williams Companies, Inc., Former CIO of the New York State Common Retirement Fund
  • Sarah Guernsey, Deputy Director and Senior Vice President for Curatorial Affairs at the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Patricia Harris, Roosevelt Alumna (BGS '80) and Board of Trustees Chair, Former Global Chief Diversity Officer at McDonald’s Corporation
  • Nancy Kaszak, Director of the Illinois Telehealth Initiative of the Partnership for a Connected Illinois
  • Mablene Krueger, Chief Operating Officer of Roosevelt University’s Schaumburg Campus
  • Kenyatta K. Matheny, Chief Investment Officer of EquiTrust
  • Joyce E. Tucker, Roosevelt Board of Trustees Member, Former Vice President of Global Diversity and Employee Rights for The Boeing Company